About the Awards

The highlight of the second edition is the AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Awards – an unprecedented mark of recognition in the banking & financial sector in Mauritius. Through this initiative, the Bank will be honouring the organisations which have not only made sustainability an integral part of their business practices but have also engendered a positive impact in the communities in which they operate, by improving and advancing the economic, environmental and social conditions of the country at large.

Awards Categories

The awards will be split into two categories and will target only local corporates.

Best Sustainability Project

The award will reward companies that have implemented an initiative / a project related to one or several of the United Nations’ SDGs during the 12-month period ending 30 June 2019.

Selection Criteria:

  • You must be a company, which has been incorporated over a year.
  • The projects/Initiatives must have been completed from 01 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.
  • One company may submit up to 3 projects/initiatives related to one or several of the 17 SDGs. implemented during the 12-month period ending 30 June 2019.
  • Winners will be selected based on the most successful projects/initiatives implemented.

Best Sustainable Business

This award will recompense companies that are reinforcing their commitment and actions by adopting sustainability principles in their approach today to achieve a sustainable future.

Selection Criteria

  • You must be a company which has been incorporated over a year.
  • You must demonstrate how your company is integrating the 17 SDGS in its business activities, internal policies and procedures during the 12-month period ending 30 June 2019.
Please refer to the Awards Submission Guidelines for more information about the award entry. Submission Deadline: Monday 30 September 2019 & Entries should be sent to the UN at 

*Terms & Conditions apply
View more

Why should you participate?

  • Showcase your achievement and become the 1st recipient of the AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Awards. This will unfold your sustainability brand and enable you to demarcate yourself.
  • Endorse your success with an independent Jury panel
  • Receive “free” access to the 2 days of AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Summit when you are among the shortlisted candidates
  • Network with the industry’s top executives at the Awards Gala dinner


Christine N Umotoni

UN Resident Coordinator, in Mauritius and Seychelles



André Pouillès-Duplaix

Director, Agence Française Développement (AFD)



Raj Mohabeer

Officer in Charge, Indian Ocean Commission



Is there a fee for entering the AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Awards?

No. Participation in the awards is free of charge.

How can I apply for the AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Awards?

It is straightforward and relatively quick. The participant will need to submit an award entry in word format, outline the categories and the countries for which they wish to be considered, and briefly highlight why their institution and/or project is deserving of recognition.
Please refer to the Award Submission Guidelines for more information.

May I submit more than one application?

A maximum of three entries per submitting organization is allowed for the category Best Sustainability Project. Large organisations with multiple business units are encouraged to consult with each other on their participation details to decide which initiatives to nominate.

Can I have an indicative timeline for the award application process?

The closing date for submissions is 30 September 2019. The pre-selection will take place by 04 October 2019, followed by the final selection on 10 October 2019. The winners will be announced during a ceremony at the AfrAsia Bank Sustainability Summit.

What are the eligibility requirements?

  • All submitted projects/initiatives must be completed during the 12-month period ending 30 June 2019.
  • All submitted projects/initiatives must address all the three dimensions of sustainable development – environmental, economic & social – and be in line with the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Am I eligible to participate with an ongoing project?

No. Submitted projects must be completed; in other words, projects must have delivered results at the stage of submission.

Is it mandatory to address all the mentioned SDGs and all their respective targets? If so, to what extent?

The awards require that the initiatives being submitted reflect the integrated, indivisible and interwoven nature of the SDGs, together with the three dimensions of sustainable development, including crosscutting as well as new and emerging issues. The rules of the awards do not attribute additional weightage to individual goals or targets.

What is the jury looking for in a submission?

Please read the selection criteria for each category. In general, the core principle of the awards is to reward the project or business that, in the judges’ view, has the greatest significance in terms of its positive impact on sustainability. The more information you can provide –including any relevant supporting data – the more likely your claims will be accepted. You are encouraged to provide links to additional information, videos, etc.